From The Booking Desk:

Things in the world have been pretty stressful lately; everyone is having burn-out from the political landscape – but publishing is still there giving readers books that will take their mind off reality for a few precious moments. This week there is an incredibly strong roster of titles vying for your attention.

______________________________________________________________________

Ragnar Jonasson – Snowblind (Minotaur, Hardcover, $25.98, 01/31/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Easily one of my favorite debut novels in years, The BOLO Books Review of Snowblind ran when the book was originally released overseas. I have since gone on to review two other books in the series (Nightblind and Rupture). I am thrilled that US readers can now easily get their hands on this book. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Where: A quiet fishing village in northern Iceland, where no one locks their doors. It is accessible only via a small mountain tunnel.

Who: Ari Thor is a rookie policeman on his first posting, far from his girlfriend in Reykjavik. He has a past that he’s unable to leave behind.

What: A young woman is found lying half-naked in the snow, bleeding and unconscious, and a highly esteemed elderly writer falls to his death. Ari is dragged straight into the heart of a community where he can trust no one, and secrets and lies are a way of life.

Past plays tag with the present and the claustrophobic tension mounts, while Ari is thrust ever deeper into his own darkness―blinded by snow and with a killer on the loose.

Taut and terrifying, Snowblind is a startling debut from an extraordinary new talent.

______________________________________________________________________

Sarah Pinborough – Behind Her Eyes (Flatiron, Hardcover, $25.99, 01/31/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

I was unable to secure an early copy of this novel, but some of my favorite book bloggers are raving, so I know that this one is going to be worth it. Rumor is there is a twist readers will never see coming…

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake, but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend. But she also just happens to be married to David. And if you think you know where this story is going, think again, because Behind Her Eyes is like no other book you’ve read before.

David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife. But then why is David so controlling? And why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong. But Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

In Behind Her Eyes, Sarah Pinborough has written a novel that takes the modern day love triangle and not only turns it on its head, but completely reinvents it in a way that will leave readers reeling.

______________________________________________________________________

Ellen Hart – Fever in the Dark (Minotaur, Hardcover, $25.99, 01/31/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Ellen Hart is going to be awarded the Grand Master designation at this year’s Edgar Awards.  That alone should be enough to encourage you to read this book, but beyond that, Jane Lawless is an iconic character loved and adored by many.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

In Fever in the Dark by Ellen Hart, Fiona and Annie return home from their one year anniversary trip to discover that their poignant proposal video has been posted on YouTube and has garnered hundreds of thousands of hits. The video is on the verge of going viral, and there’s enormous media interest in Fiona and Annie, as their fame comes just on the heels of the Supreme Court’s decision to legalize gay marriage across the country. As some of the attention starts to turn vicious, Fiona pulls in an old friend, private investigator Jane Lawless, to help separate the harmless threats from the potentially harmful.

As the media storm continues to grow, Fiona revels in the attention, but Annie is furious. Fiona has always known that Annie has secrets, but her newfound notoriety threatens to bring Annie’s past straight to their door. And then, when a murder occurs and Annie and Fiona are both suspects, it’s up to Jane to prove their innocence…although the more she learns, the more she starts to wonder whether they actually are innocent.

Ellen Hart will once again captivate readers with her trademark smart, clever, mystery plotting and rich, human characters.

______________________________________________________________________

Matthew Iden – The Winter Over (Thomas & Mercer, Paperback, $15.95, 01/31/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Antarctica is such a perfect setting for a closed-room mystery that it is surprising no one has thought of it yet, but that’s ok, because Matthew Iden has got readers covered. Perfect for reading during these winter evenings, sitting by the fire, where you are SAFE.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Each winter the crew at the Shackleton South Pole Research Facility faces nine months of isolation, round-the-clock darkness, and one of the most extreme climates on the planet. For thirty-something mechanical engineer Cass Jennings, Antarctica offers an opportunity to finally escape the guilt of her troubled past and to rebuild her life.

But the death of a colleague triggers a series of mysterious incidents that push Cass and the rest of the forty-four-person crew to the limits of their sanity and endurance. Confined and cut off from the outside world, will they work together or turn against one another? As the tension escalates, Cass must find the strength to survive not only a punishing landscape but also an unrelenting menace determined to destroy the station—and everyone in it.

______________________________________________________________________

SJI Holliday – The Damsel Fly (Black & White, Paperback, $7.37, 02/02/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

SJI Holliday’s debut was a unique breath of fresh air into the crime genre. (See The BOLO Books review of Black Wood). Look for my review of the second book in the series later this week. This is the third book in the series – just look at that beautiful cover – and I can bet that Holliday is still defying reader’s expectations at every turn.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

An unsolved murder. A community turned against each other. A killer close to home…

Katie Taylor is the perfect student. She’s bright and funny, she has a boyfriend who adores her and there are only a few months left of school before she can swap Banktoun for the bright lights of London. Life gets even better when she has an unexpected win on a scratch card. But then Katie’s luck runs out.

Her tragic death instead becomes the latest in a series of dark mysteries blighting the small town. The new school counsellor Polly McAllister, who has recently returned to Banktoun to make amends in her own personal life, is thrown in at the deep end as the pupils and staff come to terms with Katie’s death. And it’s not long before she uncovers a multitude of murky secrets. Did Katie have enemies? Is her boyfriend really so squeaky clean? And who is her brother’s mysterious friend?

With Banktoun’s insular community inflamed by gossip and a baying mob stirring itself into a frenzy on social media, DS Davie Gray and DC Louise Jennings must work out who really murdered Katie before someone takes matters into their own hands…

The Damselfly is the latest novel from the bestselling author of Black Wood and Willow Walk set in the small Scottish town of Banktoun. Fans of Rachel Abbott, Angela Marsons and Peter James will love this rivetting psychological crime thriller as DS Davie Gray tries to hold together a community once again rocked by tragedy.