BOLO – Week of February 12, 2017

From The Booking Desk:

This week, we celebrate Valentine’s Day, so if you are looking for a book for that loved one (or for yourself), there are several contenders being released tomorrow.

______________________________________________________________________

Charles Todd – Racing the Devil (William Morrow, Hardcover, $26.99, 02/14/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Charles Todd’s historical mystery series featuring Ian Rutledge has no shortage of fans – and rightfully so. This mother/son writing team never fails to educate and entertain while telling an authentic story of the past that still manages to inform the present. If you are not reading the Todd’s, you should be.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Scotland Yard’s Ian Rutledge finds himself caught in a twisted web of vengeance, old grievances, and secrets that lead back to World War I in the nineteenth installment of the acclaimed bestselling series.

On the eve of the bloody Battle of the Somme, a group of English officers having a last drink before returning to the Front make a promise to each other: if they survive the battle ahead—and make it through the war—they will meet in Paris a year after the fighting ends. They will celebrate their good fortune by racing motorcars they beg, borrow, or own from Paris to Nice.

In November 1919, the officers all meet as planned, and though their motorcars are not designed for racing, they set out for Nice. But a serious mishap mars the reunion. In the mountains just north of their destination, two vehicles are nearly run off the road, and one man is badly injured. No one knows—or will admit to knowing—which driver was at the wheel of the rogue motorcar.

Back in England one year later, during a heavy rainstorm, a driver loses control on a twisting road and is killed in the crash. Was it an accident due to the hazardous conditions? Or premeditated murder? Is the crash connected in some way to the unfortunate events in the mountains above Nice the year before? The dead driver wasn’t in France—although the motorcar he drove was. If it was foul play, was it a case of mistaken identity? Or was the dead man the intended victim after all?

Investigating this perplexing case, Scotland Yard Inspector Ian Rutledge discovers that the truth is elusive—and that the villages on the South Downs, where the accident happened, are adept at keeping secrets, frustrating his search. Determined to remain in the shadows this faceless killer is willing to strike again to stop Rutledge from finding him. This time, the victim he chooses is a child, and it will take all of Rutledge’s skill to stop him before an innocent young life is sacrificed.

______________________________________________________________________

Yrsa Sigurdardottir – The Undesired (Minotaur, Hardcover, $25.99, 02/14/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Yrsa Sigurdardottir is best known for her series, but she is also an excellent author of some stunning stand-alone novels. This one is especially strong and with a storyline featuring children at risk, it also works nicely in conjunction with her upcoming series centered about The Children’s House (more on that in coming weeks).

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Aldis hates her job working in a juvenile detention center in rural Iceland. The boys are difficult, the owners are unpleasant, and there are mysterious noises at night. And then two of the boys go astray . . .

Decades later, single father Odinn is looking into alleged abuse at the center. The more he finds out, though, the more it seems the odd events of the 1970s are linked to the accident that killed his ex-wife. Was her death something more sinister?

Yrsa Sigurdardottir is a huge European bestseller both with her crime and horror novels. You might want to sleep with the light on after reading The Undesired. . .

______________________________________________________________________

Frances Brody – A Death in the Dales (Minotaur, Hardcover, $25.99, 02/14/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Frances Brody’s books featuring Kate Shackleton make for a cozier historical series but both her characterization and her plotting are consistently strong. These are perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and other traditional mystery practitioners.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

A murder most foul

When the landlord of a Yorkshire tavern is killed in plain sight, Freda Simonson, the only witness to the crime, becomes plagued with guilt, believing the wrong man has been convicted. Following her death, it seems that the truth will never be uncovered in the peaceful village of Langcliffe…

A village of secrets

But it just so happens that Freda’s nephew is courting the renowned amateur sleuth Kate Shackleton, who decides to holiday in Langcliffe with her indomitable teenage niece, Harriet. When Harriet strikes up a friendship with a local girl whose young brother is missing, the search leads Kate to uncover another suspicious death, not to mention an illicit affair.

The case of a lifetime

As the present mysteries merge with the past’s mistakes, Kate is thrust into the secrets that Freda left behind and realizes that this courageous woman has entrusted her with solving a murder from beyond the grave. It soon becomes clear to her that nothing in Langcliffe is quite as it appears, and with a murderer on the loose and an ever-growing roster of suspects, this isn’t the holiday Kate was expecting . . .

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.