BOLO – Week of March 19, 2017

From The Booking Desk:

It is going to be a very busy week here on BOLO Books – and this list of books to be on the look out for is the reason why. This listing just scratches the surface of the incredible books coming out this week. I often say it, but it has never been more true: There is a book for every taste on this list!

______________________________________________________________________

Yrsa Sigurdardottir – The Legacy (Hodder & Stoughton, Hardcover, £14.99, 03/23/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Last week, you probably saw both the BOLO Books review of The Legacy and the BOLO Books interview with Yrsa Sigurdardottir. I can’t say much more beyond: “Don’t miss this book!”

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

The murder was meant as a punishment – but what sin could justify the method?

The only person who might have answers is the victim’s seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she’s not talking.

Newly promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children’s House for their expertise with traumatised young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn’t best pleased. But she’s determined to keep little Margret safe.

It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He’s telling a dark and secret story – but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?
______________________________________________________________________

Becky Masterman – A Twist of the Knife (Minotaur, Hardcover, $25.99, 03/21/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Look for both the review of A Twist of the Knife and an interview with Becky Masterman towards the end of the week. The Brigid Quinn series is one of my favorites and I can promise you that this book is a thrilling addition to her story.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Ex-FBI agent Brigid Quinn, now happily settled in Tucson, doesn’t visit her family in Florida much. But her former partner on the force, Laura Coleman―a woman whose life she has saved and who has saved her life in turn―is living there now. So when Laura calls about a case that is not going well, Brigid doesn’t hesitate to get on a plane.

On leave from the Bureau, Laura has been volunteering for a legal group trying to prove the innocence of a man who is on death row for killing his family. Laura is firmly convinced that he didn’t do it, while Brigid isn’t so sure―but the date for his execution is coming up so quickly that they’ll have to act fast to find any evidence that may absolve him before it’s too late…

A Twist of the Knife, Edgar Award and CWA Gold Dagger finalist Becky Masterman’s third Brigid Quinn novel, is the masterful follow-up to Fear the Darkness and Rage Against the Dying.
______________________________________________________________________

Christina Kovac – The Cutaway (Atria, Hardcover, $26.00, 03/21/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

I would be hard-pressed to find a book more timely than The Cutaway. Media scrutiny is the topic du jour and Christina Kovac wraps a compelling mystery around the industry. Look for the BOLO Books review tomorrow and a recap of one of Christina Kovac’s launch events at some point soon.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page.

______________________________________________________________________

Thomas Pluck – Bad Boy Boogie (Down & Out Books, Paperback, $17.95, 03/20/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Thomas Pluck may be a name you are unfamiliar with, but with every word he writes, his name-recognition grows. His short stories are often some of my favorites of any year and his stellar moral compass always shines through in his work. I can’t wait to dive into this book.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

When Jay Desmarteaux steps out of from prison after serving twenty-five years for murdering a vicious school bully, he tries to follow his convict mentor’s advice: the best revenge is living well.

But questions gnaw at his gut: Where have his folks disappeared to? Why do old friends want him gone? And who wants him dead?

Teaming with his high school sweetheart turned legal Valkyrie, a hulking body shop bodybuilder, and a razor-wielding gentleman’s club house mother, Jay will unravel a tangle of deception all the way back to the bayous where he was born. With an iron-fisted police chief on his tail and a ruthless mob captain at his throat, he’ll need his wits, his fists, and his father’s trusty Vietnam war hatchet to hack his way through a toxic jungle of New Jersey corruption that makes the gator-filled swamps of home feel like the shallow end of the kiddie pool.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.