From The Booking Desk:

We are heading into the Memorial Day Holiday this coming weekend, so that is the perfect time to check out one of this week’s new books or to catch up on previous titles you may have missed. The unofficial start of Summer is upon us.

______________________________________________________________________

Denise Mina – The Long Drop (Little, Brown, Hardcover, $26.00, 05/23/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

This long-awaited stand-alone from Denise Mina has tons of pre-press buzz, and rightly so. Look for the BOLO Books review soon, but trust me when I say there is no reason to wait to order this exceptional piece of writing.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

A standalone psychological thriller from the acclaimed author of the Alex Morrow novels that exposes the dark hearts of the guilty…and the innocent.

In 1950’s Glasgow, a household of women were found slaughtered in their beds. The father, William Watt, had a cast iron alibi but police were convinced he was guilty. Determined to clear his name, Watt let it be known that he would pay for information. Step forward career criminal Peter Manuel, with compelling details only the murderer could know. Watt agreed to meet him. They spent twelve hours together, driving and drinking in Glasgow pubs and clubs. No one knows what happened that night. The next time they met was in the High Court where Peter Manuel was defending himself against the murder charges. He called Watt as a witness and quizzed him about their long, shady night together. A fictionalized imagining of a real life case, The Long Drop is an explosive novel about guilt, innocence and the power of a good story to hide the difference.

______________________________________________________________________

Alan Drew – Shadow Man (Random House, Hardcover, $27.00, 05/23/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Southern California, serial killer, and “the treacherous underbelly of suburban life” are enough to put this one of many folks list, but add in a comparison to Dennis Lehane and readers are likely to take notice.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

What Dennis Lehane does for Boston, Alan Drew does for Southern California in this novel of psychological suspense about an idyllic community rocked by a serial killer—and a dark secret.

Detective Ben Wade has returned to his hometown of Rancho Santa Elena in search of a quieter life and to try to save his marriage. Suddenly the community, with its peaceful streets and excellent public schools, finds itself at the mercy of a serial killer who slips through windows and screen doors at night, shattering illusions of safety. As Ben and forensic specialist Natasha Betencourt struggle to stay one step ahead of the killer—and deal with painful episodes in the past—Ben’s own world is rocked again by violence. He must decide how far he is willing to go, and Natasha how much she is willing to risk, to protect their friendship and themselves to rescue the town from a psychotic murderer and a long-buried secret.

With fine, eerie, chilling prose, acclaimed author Alan Drew weaves richly imagined characters into the first of several thrilling novels of suspense featuring the California world of Ben Wade and Natasha Betencourt. Shadow Man reveals the treacherous underbelly of suburban life, as a man, a woman, a family, and a community are confronted with the heart of human darkness.

______________________________________________________________________

Gerard Stembridge – What She Saw (Harper, Paperback, $15.99, 05/23/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

I don’t know much about this one, but the cover is very effective and I do love a story told within a short time-frame (in this case, 24 hours).

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

A taut, stylish thriller set over the course of twenty-four hours in Paris—perfect for fans of Chris Pavone’s The Expats and Olen Steinhauer’s The Tourist.

The storied Hotel Chevalier on Paris’ ritzy Right Bank hosts celebrities, dignitaries, and—for one night—Lana Gibson, an American woman who’s escaped the monotony of her staid married life for a cultural jaunt to the City of Light. As long as she takes her meds, she promises herself, her heightened curiosity and manic elation will stay under control.

But when that curiosity leads her to the hotel’s private elevator which serves only the ultra-elite penthouse Suite Imperial, she spies much more than plush carpets and gilt chandeliers: a young woman caught in the clutches of a threatening-looking older man. Unable to erase the image of the girl in danger from her mind, Lana alerts the police, plunging herself into a firestorm of intrigue and becoming a target.

As she engages in a cat-and-mouse game that plays out across the streets of Paris, it emerges that the older man is a prominent public figure, and the murky situation only offers more questions: Is he being set up? Who stands to gain the most from his downfall? Not knowing who has her best interests at heart, Lana will need to use every ounce of strength and guile as she races to discover the relationship between the truth and what she saw.

Set against the glittering city of Paris, What She Saw is a hypnotic, thoroughly compelling thriller that will leave readers guessing until the final pages.