From The Booking Desk:

This week’s list of books to be on the look out for contains all the buzz words readers love: secrets, puzzles, facades, poignant, suspenseful and clever. I think everyone will be able to find a least one book that will piques interest.

______________________________________________________________________

Karen Dionne – The Marsh King’s Daughter (G.P. Putnam’s Sons, Hardcover, $26.00, 06/13/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

You have probably seen the BOLO Books review of The Marsh King’s Daughter already, so you know that I am a champion for this novel. I fully expect that we’ll be seeing this book appear on awards short-lists throughout the coming year.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

At last, Helena Pelletier has the life she deserves. A loving husband, two beautiful daughters, a business that fills her days. Then she catches an emergency news announcement and realizes she was a fool to think she could ever leave her worst days behind her.

Helena has a secret: she is the product of an abduction. Her mother was kidnapped as a teenager by her father and kept in a remote cabin in the marshlands of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. No electricity, no heat, no running water, not a single human beyond the three of them. Helena, born two years after the abduction, loved her home in nature—fishing, tracking, hunting. And despite her father’s odd temperament and sometimes brutal behavior, she loved him, too . . . until she learned precisely how savage a person he could be.

More than twenty years later, she has buried her past so soundly that even her husband doesn’t know the truth. But now her father has killed two guards, escaped from prison, and disappeared into the marshland he knows better than anyone else in the world. The police commence a manhunt, but Helena knows they don’t stand a chance. Knows that only one person has the skills to find the survivalist the world calls the Marsh King—because only one person was ever trained by him: his daughter.

______________________________________________________________________

Laurie R. King – Lockdown (Bantam, Hardcover, $28.00, 06/13/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

I was unable to secure an advanced copy of this title, but based on early reviews and Laurie R. King’s talent, there is little doubt that it will be worth checking out.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

A community comes together when threatened by someone with a thirst for revenge in this stunningly intricate, tautly plotted novel of rich psychological suspense from the New York Times bestselling author of the Mary Russell mysteries.

Career Day at Guadalupe Middle School: A day given to innocent hopes and youthful dreams. A day no one in attendance will ever forget.

A year ago, Principal Linda McDonald arrived at Guadalupe determined to overturn the school’s reputation for truancy, gang violence, and neglect. One of her initiatives is Career Day—bringing together children, teachers, and community presenters in a celebration of the future. But there are some in attendance who reject McDonald’s bright vision.

A principal with a secret. A husband with a murky past. A cop with too many questions. A kid under pressure to prove himself. A girl struggling to escape a mother’s history. A young basketball player with an affection for guns.

Even the school janitor has a story he dare not reveal.

But no one at the gathering anticipates the shocking turn of events that will transform a day of possibilities into an explosive confrontation.

Tense, poignant, and brilliantly paced, Laurie R. King’s novel charts compelling characters on a collision course—a chain of interactions that locks together hidden lives, troubling secrets, and the bravest impulses of the human heart.

______________________________________________________________________

Wendy Tyson – Fatal Façade (Henery Press, Paperback, $15.95, 06/13/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

I am a huge fan of Wendy Tyson’s Allison Campbell series. It has been a while since the last book appeared and this one is taking Allison from Philly to Italy. Often classified as a cozy, this series has a bit more edge than that sub-genre typically offers, so if sounds intriguing, this is the series for you.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Allison Campbell accepted a dream assignment: a visit to the Italian Dolomites to help Hollywood socialite Elle Rose reinvent herself. A guest cottage on the grounds of Elle’s historic castle promises to be a much-needed respite from Allison’s harried life on the Philadelphia Main Line, and the picturesque region, with its sharp peaks, rolling pastures, and medieval churches, is the perfect spot from which to plan her upcoming wedding. Only this idyllic retreat is anything but peaceful. There are the other visitors—an entourage of back-biting expats and Hollywood VIPs. There’s Elle’s famous rock star father, now a shadowy recluse hovering behind the castle’s closed doors. And then there’s Elle’s erratic behavior. Nothing is as it seems. After a guest plummets to her death from a cliff on the castle grounds, Allison’s trip of a lifetime turns nightmarish—but before she can journey home, Allison must catch a killer.

______________________________________________________________________

Matthew Sullivan – Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore (Scribner, Hardcover, $26.00, 2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Books, puzzles, secrets, and more books – what more can one ask for? The debut novel is high on my list of current must-reads. Why not join me in experiencing this one?

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

When a bookshop patron commits suicide, his favorite store clerk must unravel the puzzle he left behind in this fiendishly clever debut novel from an award-winning short story writer.

Lydia Smith lives her life hiding in plain sight. A clerk at the Bright Ideas bookstore, she keeps a meticulously crafted existence among her beloved books, eccentric colleagues, and the BookFrogs—the lost and lonely regulars who spend every day marauding the store’s overwhelmed shelves.

But when Joey Molina, a young, beguiling BookFrog, kills himself in the bookstore’s upper room, Lydia’s life comes unglued. Always Joey’s favorite bookseller, Lydia has been bequeathed his meager worldly possessions. Trinkets and books; the detritus of a lonely, uncared for man. But when Lydia flips through his books she finds them defaced in ways both disturbing and inexplicable. They reveal the psyche of a young man on the verge of an emotional reckoning. And they seem to contain a hidden message. What did Joey know? And what does it have to do with Lydia?

As Lydia untangles the mystery of Joey’s suicide, she unearths a long buried memory from her own violent childhood. Details from that one bloody night begin to circle back. Her distant father returns to the fold, along with an obsessive local cop, and the Hammerman, a murderer who came into Lydia’s life long ago and, as she soon discovers, never completely left. Bedazzling, addictive, and wildly clever, Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore is a heart-pounding mystery that perfectly captures the intellect and eccentricity of the bookstore milieu and will keep you guessing until the very last page.​

______________________________________________________________________

Jennifer Kitses – Small Hours (Grand Central, Hardcover, $26.00 06/13/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

This one has a very brief description, but it is enough to add it to this week’s list. Comparisons to Russo and Perrota are good, but most interesting to me is the one day time-frame presented in hour-by-hour increments. This debut sounds like it could be devastating.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

In the vein of Richard Russo and Tom Perrotta, a gripping, suspenseful, and gorgeous debut novel–told hour-by-hour over the course of a single day–in which a husband and wife try to outrun long-buried secrets, sending their lives spiraling into chaos.