From The Booking Desk:

Can you believe we are starting August this week? Tomorrow, actually. The summer is just flying by. This week is jam-packed with new books to purchase – I had to make some tough cuts to my list to keep it to a manageable level. So while I do think these books are worth your time, there are many others out this week as well, so please don’t limit yourself to these. So many options, so little time.

______________________________________________________________________

Felicia Yap – Yesterday (Mulholland, Hardcover, $27.00, 08/01/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

This season readers have seen several books that blend mystery and sci-fi – Titles like Afterlife and Behind Her Eyes. Felicia Yap’s Yesterday is another fine example. With a hook that will make any crime fiction reader salivate – how do you solve a crime when all those involved – perpetrator, witnesses, law enforcement – will forget it even happened within 24 hours? Even given the Dystopian nature of this fictional world, the crime element here remains rooted in real-world vices. Yap very skillfully uses the multiple narrator structure to full effect and doesn’t let the plot get bogged down in complex world-building.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

How do you solve a murder when you can only remember yesterday?

Imagine a world in which classes are divided not by wealth or religion but by how much each group can remember. Monos, the majority, have only one day’s worth of memory; elite Duos have two. In this stratified society, where Monos are excluded from holding high office and demanding jobs, Claire and Mark are a rare mixed marriage. Clare is a conscientious Mono housewife, Mark a novelist-turned-politician Duo on the rise. They are a shining example of a new vision of tolerance and equality-until…

A beautiful woman is found dead, her body dumped in England’s River Cam. The woman is Mark’s mistress, and he is the prime suspect in her murder. The detective investigating the case has secrets of his own. So did the victim. And when both the investigator’s and the suspect’s memories are constantly erased–how can anyone learn the truth?

Told from four different perspectives, that of Mark, Claire, the detective on the case, and the victim–Felicia Yap’s staggeringly inventive debut leads us on a race against an ever-resetting clock to find the killer. With the science-fiction world-building of Philip K. Dick and the twisted ingenuity of Memento, Yesterday is a thriller you’ll never forget.

______________________________________________________________________

J. D. Trafford – Little Boy Lost (Thomas & Mercer, Paperback, $15.95, 08/01/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Our best crime fiction weaves real-world societal problems into a gripping and entertaining crime plot. Against the backdrop of a struggling city, Trafford confronts the underlying racism in our country head-on, all without becoming preachy or didactic.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

A broken city, a missing young man, and a lawyer searching for truth when nobody else cares.

Attorney Justin Glass’s practice, housed in a shabby office on the north side of Saint Louis, isn’t doing so well that he can afford to work for free. But when eight-year-old Tanisha Walker offers him a jar full of change to find her missing brother, he doesn’t have the heart to turn her away.

Justin had hoped to find the boy alive and well. But all that was found of Devon Walker was his brutally murdered body—and the bodies of twelve other African American teenagers, all discarded like trash in a mass grave. Each had been reported missing. And none had been investigated.

As simmering racial tensions explode into violence, Justin finds himself caught in the tide. And as he gives voice to the discontent plaguing the city’s forgotten and ignored, he vows to search for the killer who preys upon them.

______________________________________________________________________

Graham Norton – Holding (Atria, Hardcover, $25.00, 08/01/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Yes, *that* Graham Norton. I haven’t read this one yet – simply didn’t have the time with all the new books out this season – but I certainly will get to this one soon.  A remote village, a fascinating detective, and countless secrets – sounds like a modern-day Agatha Christie tale, which pretty much guarantees readers will enjoy it.  Norton’s skill a humor should help to lighten this story.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

From Graham Norton, the BAFTA-award-winning Irish television host and author of the “sparkling and impish” (Daily Mail) memoirs The Life and Loves of a He Devil and So Me, comes a charming debut novel set in an idyllic Irish village where a bumbling investigator has to sort through decades of gossip and secrets to solve a mysterious crime.

The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama but when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke—a former lover of two different inhabitants—the village’s dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated sergeant PJ Collins struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community’s worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret.

In this darkly comic, touching, and at times heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy, Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of loveable characters, and explore—with searing honesty—the complexities and contradictions that make us human.

______________________________________________________________________

Kathleen Barber – Are You Sleeping? (Gallery, Hardcover, $26.00, 08/01/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Another title I didn’t have time to read, this suspense thriller that taps into our current interest in podcasts sounds like a real winner. Expect to hear more about this one soon.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Serial meets Ruth Ware’s In A Dark, Dark Wood in this inventive and twisty psychological thriller about a mega-hit podcast that reopens a murder case—and threatens to unravel the carefully constructed life of the victim’s daughter.

The only thing more dangerous than a lie…is the truth.

Josie Buhrman has spent the last ten years trying to escape her family’s reputation and with good reason. After her father’s murder thirteen years prior, her mother ran away to join a cult and her twin sister Lanie, once Josie’s closest friend and confidant, betrayed her in an unimaginable way. Now, Josie has finally put down roots in New York, settling into domestic life with her partner Caleb, and that’s where she intends to stay.

The only problem is that she has lied to Caleb about every detail of her past—starting with her last name.

When investigative reporter Poppy Parnell sets off a media firestorm with a mega-hit podcast that reopens the long-closed case of Josie’s father’s murder, Josie’s world begins to unravel. Meanwhile, the unexpected death of Josie’s long-absent mother forces her to return to her Midwestern hometown where she must confront the demons from her past—and the lies on which she has staked her future.

______________________________________________________________________

Augustus Rose – The Ready-Made Thief (Viking, Hardcover, $26.00, 08/01/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

A very modern tale, Lee Cuddy is a character readers are going to root for. The plot is impossible to summarize in small platitudes, this one has to be experienced to be appreciated.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Lee Cuddy is seventeen years old and on the run.

Betrayed by her family after taking the fall for a friend, Lee finds refuge in a cooperative of runaways holed up in an abandoned building they call the Crystal Castle. But the façade of the Castle conceals a far more sinister agenda, one hatched by a society of fanatical men set on decoding a series of powerful secrets hidden in plain sight. And they believe Lee holds the key to it all.

Aided by Tomi, a young hacker and artist with whom she has struck a wary alliance, Lee escapes into the unmapped corners of the city—empty aquariums, deserted motels, patrolled museums, and even the homes of vacationing families. But the deeper she goes underground, the more tightly she finds herself bound in the strange web she’s trying to elude. Desperate and out of options, Lee steps from the shadows to face who is after her—and why.

A novel of puzzles, conspiracies, secret societies, urban exploration, art history, and a singular, indomitable heroine, The Readymade Thief heralds the arrival of a spellbinding and original new talent in fiction.

______________________________________________________________________

Stephanie Kuehn – When I Am Through With You (Dutton for Young Readers, Hardcover, $17.99, 08/01/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

You all know how I love a traditional crime story in the YA genre.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

A gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love.

“This isn’t meant to be a confession. Not in any spiritual sense of the word. Yes, I’m in jail at the moment. I imagine I’ll be here for a long time, considering. But I’m not writing this down for absolution and I’m not seeking forgiveness, not even from myself. Because I’m not sorry for what I did to Rose. I’m just not. Not for any of it.”

Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip in the mountains. About who lived and who died. About who killed and who had the best of intentions. But he’s going to tell you in his own time. Because after what happened on that mountain, time is the one thing he has plenty of.

Smart, dark, and twisty, When I Am Through With You will leave readers wondering what it really means to do the right thing.