From The Booking Desk:

Around this time, the tribe will be descending on Toronto for the annual International Crime Fiction Convention – Bouchercon.  Looking forward to seeing everyone.  These books are out this week for your reading enjoyment.

______________________________________________________________________

Leigh Perry – The Skeleton Paints a Picture (Diversion Books, Paperback, $14.99, 10/10/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

The BOLO Books Review of The Skeleton Paints a Picture posted to the blog last week. It’s my favorite in this delightful paranormal cozy series. Don’t miss it!

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Georgia Thackery, adjunct English professor, has a new job teaching at Falstone College of Art and Design, known as FAD to its students and faculty. Living in a borrowed bungalow during winter in the snowiest part of Massachusetts, Georgia feels her isolation weighing as heavily as the weather. Then she receives a package containing her best friend, Sid, a walking, talking skeleton who has lived with the Thackery family since Georgia was six. With Georgia working out of town, Sid was lonely too.

The two of them make plans for a cozy semester together, and it might have worked out that way if Sid hadn’t snuck out in the middle of the night to play in the snow and spotted a crashed car. When he drags Georgia out to investigate, they find the driver behind the wheel, apparently dead from the collision.

Initially, police think it’s an accident, so Georgia and Sid think that’s the end of it―until Georgia finds out the body hits closer to home than she’d realized…

______________________________________________________________________

G. M. Malliet – Weycombe (Midnight Ink, Hardcover, $24.99, 10/08/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

G. M. Malliet strays a bit from her cozy roots with this suspense novel, but it will still appeal to her fans. New-comers will find an author skilled at crafting complex characters whom readers will love (or love to hate). G. M. is a master at small village settings, and here she shows that while the village may be quaint and cozy, the crimes within are no less dangerous and devastating.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

To those on the outside, Weycombe is perfect. For those on the inside, the cost of perfection is deadly.

Living in the gated, wealthy village of Weycombe with her titled English husband is a fantasy come true for American Jillian White. But the murder of a local estate agent mars the so-pretty surface of her life and home. Worried about a killer on the loose, Jill tries to piece together clues hidden in the many versions of truth she hears from her suspicious neighbors. As Jill plunges deep into the investigation, her own suspicions grow into a warped web of lies and treachery.

From award-winning author G.M. Malliet comes a gripping psychological tale of murder and deception in which few can be trusted and nothing is as perfect as it seems.

______________________________________________________________________

Jenny Blackhurst – How I Lost You (Atria, Paperback, $16.00, 10/10/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

I haven’t read this one yet, but I can’t resist a book with memory loss at the core.  Memory is such an interesting and complex thing and authors manipulating it for the purpose of crime fiction always pique my interest. If you read this one, please do let me know.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

A woman without a memory struggles to discover the truth about her past and her identity in this cerebral and dark thriller reminiscent of works by bestselling authors S.J. Watson and Ruth Ware.

I have no memory of what happened but I was told I killed my son. And you believe what your loved ones, your doctor and the police tell you, don’t you? My name is Emma Cartwright. Three years ago I was Susan Webster, and I murdered my twelve-week-old son Dylan. I was sent to Oakdale Psychiatric Institute for my crime, and four weeks ago I was released early on parole with a new identity, address, and a chance to rebuild my tattered life. This morning, I received an envelope addressed to Susan Webster. Inside it was a photograph of a toddler called Dylan. Now I am questioning everything I believe because if I have no memory of the event, how can I truly believe he’s dead? If there was the smallest chance your son was alive, what would you do to get him back?

______________________________________________________________________

Ellen Byron – Cajun Christmas Killing (Crooked Lane, Hardcover, $26.99, 10/10/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

It is never too early for Christmas. Ellen Byron’s traditional mystery series continues to garner acclaim, so why not ease into the holiday season with the residents of Pelican, Louisiana.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Maggie Crozat is back home in bayou country during the most magical time of the year. In Pelican, Louisiana, Christmastime is a season of giant bonfires on the levee, zydeco carols, and pots of gumbo. Except, this year, the Grinch has come to stay at the family-run Crozat Plantation B&B. When he floods travel websites with vicious reviews, Maggie thinks she’s identified him as rival businessman Donald Baxter. That is, until he’s found stabbed to death at Maggie’s workplace. And Maggie and her loved ones become top suspects.

The Crozats quickly establish alibis, but Maggie’s boyfriend, Detective Bo Durand, remains under suspicion. With Bo sidelined during the investigation, Maggie finds herself forced to work with an unlikely ally: longtime family enemy Rufus Durand. Her sleuthing uncovers more suspects than drummers drumming, and lands her in the crosshairs of the murderer.

The sleigh bells are jingling, and the clock is ticking for Maggie and Rufus, who must catch the killer or it will be the opposite of a Joyeux Noël in A Cajun Christmas Killing, the recipe-stuffed third installment of USA Today bestselling author Ellen Byron’s Cajun Country mysteries.

______________________________________________________________________

Mindy McGinnis – This Darkness Mine (Katherine Tegan Books, Hardcover, $17.99, 10/10/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Another one that I haven’t yet had a chance to read, but McGinnis is a popular author and this psychological suspense tale featuring a college setting and a musically-influenced plot seems very promising. And that cover is both creepy and intriguing.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Mindy McGinnis, award-winning author of The Female of the Species and A Madness So Discreet, returns with a new dark and twisted psychological thriller—perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Fight Club.

Sasha Stone knows her place—first-chair clarinet, top of her class, and at the side of her Oxford-wearing boyfriend. She’s worked her entire life to ensure her path to Oberlin Conservatory as a star musician is perfectly paved.

But suddenly there’s a fork in the road in the shape of Isaac Harver. Her body shifts toward him when he walks by, and her skin misses his touch even though she’s never known it. Why does he act like he knows her so well—too well—when she doesn’t know him at all?

Sasha discovers that her by-the-book life began by ending the chapter of another: the twin sister she absorbed in the womb. But that doesn’t explain the gaps of missing time in her practice schedule, or the memories she has of things she certainly never did with Isaac.

Armed with the knowledge that her heart might not be hers alone, Sasha must decide what she’s willing to do—and who she’s willing to hurt—to take it back.