From The Booking Desk:

A special Release Day BOLO report this week. All of these books are now available and each one of them is a must-read.  Happy Shopping.

______________________________________________________________________

Val McDermid – Insidious Intent (Atlantic Monthly Press, Hardcover, $26.00, 12/05/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Val McDermid’s name on a book cover should be enough to make reader’s buy the book, but here she continues her Tony Hill/Carol Jordan series with what proves to be an indispensable new entry for those popular characters. You can find out more with the BOLO Books review of Insidious Intent.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Widely recognized as one of our finest crime writers, with numerous accolades and legions of devoted readers worldwide, internationally bestselling author Val McDermid is back with the latest installment in her series featuring psychologist Tony Hill and former police detective Carol Jordan. In Insidious Intent, Tony and Carol are on the hunt for a serial killer who victimizes women at weddings without a date―and forces the duo to confront their most haunting moral dilemma so far.

In the north of England, single women are beginning to disappear from weddings. A pattern soon becomes clear: Someone is crashing the festivities and luring the women away―only to leave the victims’ bodies in their own burned-out cars in remote locations. Tony and Carol are called upon to investigate―but this may be the toughest case they’ve ever had to face. Meanwhile, Detective Sergeant Paula McIntyre and her partner Elinor must deal with a cruel cyber-blackmailer targeting their teenage ward, Torin.

______________________________________________________________________

Katherine Hall Page – The Body in the Casket (William Marrow, Hardcover, $25.99, 12/05/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Katherine Hall Page has written about as perfect a traditional cozy as one is likely to find. It is both an homage to the work of Agatha Christie and a wholly original and contemporary tale. Fans of theater will particularly enjoy the plotline and as each new revelation is uncovered the stakes get higher. And believe me, it is quite the resolution. 20+ books in the series and Faith Fairchild still have plenty to offer readers – as does Katherine Hall Page.

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

The inimitable Faith Fairchild returns in a chilling New England whodunit, inspired by the best Agatha Christie mysteries and with hints of the timeless board game Clue.

For most of her adult life, resourceful caterer Faith Fairchild has called the sleepy Massachusetts village of Aleford home. While the native New Yorker has come to know the region well, she isn’t familiar with Havencrest, a privileged enclave, until the owner of Rowan House, a secluded sprawling Arts and Crafts mansion, calls her about catering a weekend house party.

Producer/director of a string of hit musicals, Max Dane—a Broadway legend—is throwing a lavish party to celebrate his seventieth birthday. At the house as they discuss the event, Faith’s client makes a startling confession. “I didn’t hire you for your cooking skills, fine as they may be, but for your sleuthing ability. You see, one of the guests wants to kill me.”

Faith’s only clue is an ominous birthday gift the man received the week before—an empty casket sent anonymously containing a twenty-year-old Playbill from Max’s last, and only failed, production—Heaven or Hell. Consequently, Max has drawn his guest list for the party from the cast and crew. As the guests begin to arrive one by one, and an ice storm brews overhead, Faith must keep one eye on the menu and the other on her host to prevent his birthday bash from becoming his final curtain call.

Full of delectable recipes, brooding atmosphere, and Faith’s signature biting wit, The Body in the Casket is a delightful thriller that echoes the beloved mysteries of Agatha Christie and classic films such as Murder by Death and Deathtrap.

______________________________________________________________________

Matt Coyle – Blood Truth (Oceanview, Paperback, $15.99, 12/05/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

The Rick Cahill series is a must for fans of PI novels. With each new novel – this is the fourth – Cahill and his creator, Matt Coyle further cement their legacy into the annals of crime fiction. Not only is Blood Truth the best book in the series so far, it is also Rick Cahill’s most personal journey. Emotions are running high, as is the risk. And who can resist a trip to San Diego/La Jolla as the winter months set in nationwide?

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

A hard-boiled PI novel for fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald and Dashiell Hammett.

Rick Cahill has long feared the truth about his own blood―the blood of his father coursing through his veins.

When a long-hidden safe unlocks clues about why his father was kicked off the police force twenty-seven years ago and then spiraled into an early drunken death, Rick determines to find the truth even if it proves the one thing he’s always feared.

But as he grapples with his father’s past, the woman he still loves pleads with him to find out if her husband is having an affair―or is involved in something much more sinister. Could the truth send her back into Rick’s arms? Would he have a last shot at happiness? He may never get the chance to find out, as killers who will do anything to protect their secrets lurk in the shadows.

______________________________________________________________________

Ragnar Jonasson – Nightblind (Minotaur, Hardcover, $25.99, 12/05/2017)

BOLO Books Comments:

Ragnar Jonasson’s Dark Iceland series is one of my favorite of all time. The BOLO Books Review of Nightblind ran when the novel was originally published by Orenda (overseas). This is the second book to be published domestically by Minotaur Books. In either case, don’t miss this book!

Jacket Copy (Publisher’s Description):

Ari Thor Arason is a local policeman who has an uneasy relationship with the villagers in an idyllically quiet fishing village in Northern Iceland―where no one locks their doors.

The peace of this close-knit community is shattered by a murder. One of Ari’s colleagues is gunned down at point-blank range in the dead of night in a deserted house. With a killer on the loose and the dark Arctic waters closing in, it falls to Ari Thor to piece together a puzzle that involves a new mayor and a psychiatric ward in Reykjavik. It becomes all too clear that tragic events from the past are weaving a sinister spell that may threaten them all.