BOLO – Holiday Historicals

From the Booking Desk:

It’s hard to believe that we are already at the end of October.  Bouchercon is quickly becoming a memory as we gear up for Halloween.  And that can only mean that the holiday season is right behind (!*??)  When did all the stores start decorating for the winter festivities so early?  Since we can’t fight it, we might as well join in.  This Books to Look Out for post focuses on new holiday themed mysteries.  Enjoy!

 


Charles Todd – The Walnut Tree (William Morrow; Hardcover, $16.99, 10/30/2012)

Publisher’s Description:

“I was in Paris the day the French Army was mobilized.”

In 1914, while visiting her friend Madeleine, Lady Elspeth Douglas’s life is thrown into chaos when war breaks out and the Germans quickly overrun Belgium, threatening France. Having just agreed to marry Alain, Madeleine’s dashing brother, Lady Elspeth watches him leave to join his unit, and then she sets out for England, only to find herself trapped on the French coast.
Caught amid a sea of stranded travelers, terrified refugees, and wounded men overflowing the port of Calais, the restless Elspeth—daughter of a Highland aristocrat whose distinguished family can trace its roots back to the court of Mary, Queen of Scots—decides to make herself useful, carrying water to weary soldiers near the Front. It is an act of charity that almost gets her killed when enemy shells begin to explode around her.
To her rescue comes Captain Peter Gilchrist, who pulls her away from the battle and leads her to safety. But before they can properly say good-bye, Elspeth and Peter are separated.
Back in London, surrounded by familiar comforts, Elspeth is haunted by the horrors she witnessed in France. She also cannot forget the gallant Peter Gilchrist, even though she has promised herself to Alain.
Transformed by her experience, Elspeth goes to London and enrolls in a nursing course, where she meets a fellow nurse in training, Bess Crawford. It is a daring move, made without the consent of Elspeth’s guardian, her cousin Kenneth, a high-handed man with rigid notions of class and femininity.
Yet Elspeth Douglas is a woman with a mind of her own, which—as she herself says—is a blessing and a curse. She is determined to return to the battlefields of France to do her part . . . and to find the man she has no right to love, no matter how far Cousin Kenneth may go to stop her. But before she can set things right with Alain, he goes missing and then Peter is gravely wounded. In a world full of terror and uncertainty, can the sweetness of love survive or will Elspeth’s troubled heart become another casualty of this terrible war?
A poignant, compelling tale brimming with adventure, danger, and love, The Walnut Tree is an enchanting holiday gift and a wonderful companion to Charles Todd’s acclaimed Bess Crawford series.

Booking Desk’s Thoughts:

While this novel looks to be more of a holiday story rather than a traditional mystery, the link with the Bess Crawford mystery series makes it a must read for fans of Charles and Caroline Todd.

 

Anne Perry – The Christmas Garland (Ballantine Books; Hardcover, $18.00, 10/30/2012)

Publisher’s Description:

The year is 1857, soon after the violent Siege of Cawnpore, with India in the midst of rebellion. In the British garrison, a guard is killed and an Indian prisoner escapes, which leads to yet more British deaths. Cries for revenge are overwhelming. Despite no witnesses and no evidence against him, a luckless British medical orderly named John Tallis is arrested as an accomplice simply because he was the only soldier unaccounted for when these baffling crimes were committed.

Though chosen to defend Tallis, young Lieutenant Victor Narraway is not encouraged to try very hard. Narraway’s superiors merely want a show trial. But inspired by a soldier’s widow and her children, and by his own stubborn faith in justice, Narraway searches for the truth. In an alien world haunted by memories of massacre, he is the accused man’s only hope.

The trial of John Tallis equals the white-knuckle best of Anne Perry’s breathtaking courtroom dramas. And thanks to a simple Christmas garland and some brilliant detective work, Narraway perseveres against appalling odds, learning how to find hope within himself—and turn the darkest hour into one full of joy and light.

Booking Desk’s Thoughts:

Another in a series of small Christmas treasures that Anne Perry fans are sure to want to add to their collections.

 

Rhys Bowen – The Twelve Clues of Christmas (Berkley Prime Crime; Hardcover, $24.95, 11/6/2012)

Publisher’s Description:

She may be thirty-fifth in line for the throne, but Lady Georgiana Rannoch cannot wait to ring in the new year—before a Christmas killer wrings another neck…
On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me—well, actually, my true love, Darcy O’Mara, is spending a feliz navidad tramping around South America. Meanwhile, Mummy is holed up in a tiny village called Tiddleton-under-Lovey with that droll Noel Coward! And I’m snowed in at Castle Rannoch with my bumbling brother, Binky, and sourpuss sister-in-law, Fig.
So it’s a miracle when I contrive to land a position as hostess to a posh holiday party in Tiddleton. The village is like something out of A Christmas Carol! But no sooner have I arrived than a neighborhood nuisance, a fellow named Freddie falls out of a tree, dead…. Dickensian, indeed.

Booking Desk’s Thoughts:

Lady Georgiana can put a smile on the face of even the grumpiest scrooge. The sixth book in the Royal Spyness series will be a welcome treat while sitting by the fireplace with a hot toddy on a snow-filled afternoon.

8 thoughts on “BOLO – Holiday Historicals

  1. I can’t resist anything that has to do with Christmas! I’ll have to check some of these out!

  2. Pingback: BOLO – Week of Nov. 4, 2012 | BOLO BOOKS

  3. Haven’t started Rhys Bowen yet but I know I’ll love it! annoyed about the new trim size, however …

    • I haven’t picked up the Rhys book yet. I will do that this weekend. I had no idea the trim size was changing. That is going to bother me as well, since I love the size of the first books in the series.

Comments are closed.